What is Theft in Florida?
In Florida, Theft can be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on what was stolen and the value of the stolen property. For example. if the value of the stolen property is less than $750.00, it is considered petit theft, which is a misdemeanor. If the value of the stolen property is $750.00 or more, it is considered grand theft, and will be a felony offense.
Additionally, if you are charged with stealing an automobile (Grand Theft Auto) or stealing a firearm, you will be charged with a third degree felony and can be sentenced up to 5 years in state prison.
To prove the crime of Theft, the State must prove the following two elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
The Defendant knowingly and unlawfully obtained or used or endeavored to obtain or to use the property of the victim.
The Defendant did so with intent to, either temporarily or permanently,
deprive the victim of his/her right to the property or any benefit from it; or
appropriate the property of the victim to his/her own use or to the use of any person not entitled to it.
If you are a loved one has been charged with this serious crime, please contact us today for a free consultation!