What is a Prison Releasee Reoffender in Florida?
Being a Prison Releasee Reoffender (PRR) is not a separate crime, but a way for the State to enhance the crime(s) that you are currently charged with. Whether or not you qualify as a Prison Releasee Reoffender depends on what your current charges are and when you were released or escaped from state prison. To qualify as a Prison Releasee Reoffender in Florida, you must:
Be charged with an enumerated violent felony; and
The charged offense must have been committed within 3 years of release or escape from prison.
What Does Being a Prison Releasee Reoffender Mean?
If the State intends to seek to classify you as a Prison Releasee Reoffender, they will usually file a notice of intent prior to trial. Often times, the State will use the PRR designation as a negotiating tool to force a plea. If you qualify as a Prison Releasee Reoffender, you must receive the maximum punishment allowed by law – meaning the court has no discretion. For example, if you are charged with an enumerated violent felony that is:
A 3rd degree felony, you must be sentenced to 5 years state prison
A 2nd degree felony, you must be sentenced to 15 years state prison
A 1st degree felony, you must be sentenced to 30 years state prison
If your crime is punishable by life, you must receive a life sentence
In addition, if you are sentenced as a Prison Releasee Reoffender, you must serve 100% of your court imposed sentence - meaning you are not eligible for any gain time.
If the State is seeking to qualify you as a Prison Releasee Reoffender, it is vitally important to contact us today for a free consultation!