What is Possession of a Firearm, or Ammunition, or Concealed Weapon by a Convicted Felon in Florida?
In Florida, Felon in Possession of a Firearm, Ammunition, or Concealed Weapon is a second degree felony. In addition to fines, court costs, and other requirements, you can receive up to 15 years in state prison. It is important to note that if you are in actual possession of a firearm as a convicted felon, you must be sentenced to a 3 year minimum mandatory prison sentence pursuant to Florida's 10/20/Life law.
To prove the crime of Felon in Possession of a Firearm, Ammunition, or Concealed Weapon, the State must prove the following two elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
The Defendant had been convicted of a felony.
After the conviction, the Defendant knowingly
a. owned or had in his/her care, custody, possession, or control a firearm, an electric weapon or device, or ammunition; or
b. carried a concealed weapon.
If you are a loved one has been charged with this serious crime, please contact us today for a free consultation!