What is Possession of Cannabis in Florida?

In Florida, Possession of Cannabis or Marijuana can be a misdemeanor or felony depending on the amount. If you’re charged with possessing more than 20 grams, it is a 3rd degree felony. In addition to fines, court costs, treatment, and other requirements, you can receive up to 5 years state prison.

 

If you’re charged with possessing 20 grams or less, it is a first degree misdemeanor. In addition to fines, court costs, treatment, and other requirements, you can receive up to 1 year county jail.

 

To prove the crime of Possession of Cannabis, the State must prove the following two elements beyond a reasonable doubt:

  1. The Defendant possessed a substance.

  2. The substance was a controlled substance cannabis.

  3. The cannabis weighed more than 20 grams. (This elements only applies if you’re charged with possessing 20 grams or more.)

If you are a loved one has been charged with this serious crime, please contact us today for a free consultation!