What is Possession of Alcohol by a Minor in Florida?

In Florida, Possession of Alcohol by a Minor (often referred to as MIP) is a second degree misdemeanor. In addition to fines, court costs, and other requirements, you can receive a 60 day county jail sentence. However, if you have previously been convicted of Possession of Alcohol by a Minor, your second violation is a first degree misdemeanor. In addition to fines, court costs, and other requirements, you can receive 1 year in county jail.

 

To prove the crime of Possession of Alcohol by a Minor, the State must prove the following two elements:

  1. The Defendant knowingly possessed an alcoholic beverage

  2. The Defendant was under 21 years of age at the time.

If you are a loved one has been charged with this serious crime, please contact us today for a free consultation!