What are the sanctions for Driving Under the Influence in Florida?

The range of punishments for DUI in Florida depend largely on how many prior DUI convictions you have. It doesn't matter whether the prior(s) are from Florida or another state.

 

First time DUI

Your first DUI offense is a misdemeanor, and you can be sentenced to:

  • 6 months county jail

  • 1 year probation

  • A $500 to $1,000 fine

  • Court costs

  • Community service work

  • Driver's license suspension

  • Attend and complete DUI school

  • Attend and complete the Victim Impact Panel

  • Vehicle impounded

If your BAC is over .15, the punishments can be enhanced to include:

  • 9 months county jail

  • A $1,000 to $2,000 fine

  • An interlock device being installed on your vehicle

Second DUI

Your second DUI offense is also a misdemeanor, and you can be sentenced to:

  • 9 months county jail

  • 1 year probation

  • A $1,000 to $2,000 fine

  • Court costs

  • Community service work

  • Driver's license suspension

  • Attend and complete multi-offender DUI school

  • Attend and complete the Victim Impact Panel

  • Vehicle impounded

  • Interlock device placed on your vehicle for at least 1 year

 

If your BAC is over .15, the punishments can be enhanced to include:

  • 12 months county jail

  • A $2,000 to $4,000 fine

Second DUI Within 5 Years Since Last Offense

Your second DUI committed within 5 years since your previous DUI is also a misdemeanor, and you can be sentenced to:

  • 9 months county jail (must serve at least 10 days)

  • 1 year probation

  • A $1,000 to $2,000 fine

  • Court costs

  • Community service work

  • Driver's license suspension

  • Attend and complete multi-offender DUI school

  • Attend and complete the Victim Impact Panel

  • Vehicle impounded for 30 days

 

If your BAC is over .15, the punishments can be enhanced to include:

  • 12 months county jail

  • A $2,000 to $4,000 fine

 

Third DUI Outside 10 Years of Prior Offense​

Your third DUI offense outside of 10 years since your last DUI conviction is still a misdemeanor, and you can be sentenced to:

  • 12 months county jail

  • 1 year probation

  • A $2,000 to $5,000 fine

  • Court costs

  • Community service work

  • Driver's license suspension

  • Attend and complete multi-offender DUI school

  • Attend and complete the Victim Impact Panel

  • Vehicle impounded

 

If your BAC is over .15, the punishments can be enhanced to include:

  • 12 months county jail

  • A fine of no less than $4,000

 

Third DUI Within 10 Years of Prior Offense​

Your third DUI offense within 10 years since your last DUI conviction is a third degree felony in Florida. In addition to all the DUI sanctions mentioned above, you can receive up to 5 years in state prison.

Fourth or Subsequent DUI

 

Your fourth or subsequent DUI conviction is a third degree felony in Florida. In addition to all the DUI sanctions mentioned above, you can receive up to 5 years in state prison.

If you are a loved one has been charged with this serious crime, please contact us today for a free consultation!