What are the sanctions for Boating Under the Influence in Florida?

The range of punishments for BUI in Florida depend largely on how many prior BUI convictions you have. It doesn't matter whether the prior(s) are from Florida or another state.

 

First time BUI

Your first BUI offense is a misdemeanor, and you can be sentenced to:

  • 6 months county jail

  • 1 year probation

  • A $500 to $1,000 fine

  • Court costs

  • Community service work

  • Attend and complete a Boating Safety Course school

  • Having your vessel impounded

If your BAC is over .15 or if there was a minor child on the vessel, the punishments can be enhanced to include:

  • 9 months county jail

  • A $1,000 to $2,000 fine

  • An interlock device being installed on your vehicle

Second BUI

Your second BUI offense is also a misdemeanor, and you can be sentenced to:

  • 9 months county jail

  • 1 year probation

  • A $1,000 to $2,000 fine

  • Court costs

  • Community service work

  • Attend and complete a Boating Safety Course

  • Having your vessel impounded

 

If your BAC is over .15 or if there was a minor child on the vessel, the punishments can be enhanced to include:

  • 12 months county jail

  • A $2,000 to $4,000 fine

Third BUI Outside 10 Years of Prior Offense​

Your third BUI offense outside of 10 years since your last BUI conviction is still a misdemeanor, and you can be sentenced to:

  • 12 months county jail

  • 1 year probation

  • A $2,000 to $5,000 fine

  • Court costs

  • Community service work

  • Attend and complete a Boating Safety Course

  • Having your vessel impounded

 

If your BAC is over .15 or if there was a minor child on the vessel, the punishments can be enhanced to include:

  • 12 months county jail

  • A fine of no less than $4,000

 

Third BUI Within 10 Years of Prior Offense​

Your third BUI offense within 10 years since your last BUI conviction is a third degree felony in Florida. In addition to all the BUI sanctions mentioned above, you can receive up to 5 years in state prison.

Fourth or Subsequent BUI

 

Your fourth or subsequent BUI conviction is a third degree felony in Florida. In addition to all the BUI sanctions mentioned above, you can receive up to 5 years in state prison.

If you are a loved one has been charged with this serious crime, please contact us today for a free consultation!